Good and Loyal and Kind

Man’s Best Friend of the Future…

128 Days left until the Zombie Apocalypse…

Yeah, yeah, I’ve been neglecting my duties…again.  Procrastination and denial are a bad combination.  Plus I’ve been kind of lacking in motivation.  I think it’s due to sleep deprivation.  Between the Olympics last week and Shark Week this week, I’ve been staying up way, way too late.  I figure I’ll be absolutely mental by Sunday…if I’m not already…

Whatever.

At least I’m motivated today…right?  Well, I am now anyway.  I wasn’t planning on being motivated earlier.  My original plan for the evening was to purchase tickets for Jaws on the big screen (done!), sit on the couch (done!), and watch Sharkzilla destroy more cool stuff (in process!).  My ultimate goal for the night was to fantasize about all of the things–and people!–that I could destroy if I had my own Sharkzilla….oooh the possibilities!!….

…*drool*…

So yeah.  Productivity was the last thing on my mind.  However, then I got into a conversation with one of my best friends that made me really sad.  Her dog has cancer.  It just about broke my heart for her and for her family.  He’s such a great dog–and losing a dog is never, ever an easy thing.  So for today’s edition of the “30 Things I’ve Done Before the Age of 30”, I thought I’d reminisce a little bit about the world’s greatest dog…

Adorable.

Don’t get all offended now.  I’m not saying that your precious Fido isn’t awesome.  It’s just that Rudy was way, way more awesome.  Stop sulking.  I know how you feel.  I have three dogs these days and all of them are special.  I love them all for different reasons.  However, Rudy still tops them all–and all other dogs.  I wish that he were still around so that I could make you understand.  I guess the best I can do is try to explain…

Rudy was a red-nosed pit bull that we got from a rescue.  I remember being absolutely terrified of him the first time that I met him.  My sister and I were sitting on the couch at this woman’s house when he came running in and charged at us like a 90 pound torpedo.  I think we both thought we were going to be devoured alive.  He didn’t hurt us though.  He just jumped up with us and proceeded to lick us both to death.  He came home that day.

Snoop Dog…haha

The woman at the rescue didn’t know exactly where he had come from or how he had been treated.  However, the general theory is that he was a rescued bait dog.  Regardless, it was perfectly clear that he had been highly abused by his previous owners.  He had scars everywhere.  Plus, he was absolutely terrified of everything.  He was afraid to walk over the sewer grates on the sidewalk.  He was afraid of our parrots and of our bossy, black cat.  They could all scratch or bite at him and he would never do anything back because he was such a big chicken.  He was positively terrified of the Barney song–especially if it was being sung by my little brother’s stuffed, purple dinosaur.  It got to the point where you could sing “I love you, you love me…” and just that first line would be enough to send him into hiding.  He was just really, really afraid.  Of everything.

The neighborhood stray…and her Rudy =)

It made him into the world’s greatest dog.  He was absolutely desperate to be loved–and he loved us in return.  He was so timid and gentle that he never hurt anything.  The neighborhood stray cats would come into the yard to eat his food and sleep on his head.  He’d never try to move them–he would just stare at us and plead with his eyes for us to do it for him.  He had one cat who really adored him and kind of adopted him as hers.  She was even okay with having her kittens and bringing them into the yard because she knew that they would be safe there.  It was positively adorable.

He loved his girls!!

He was just as gentle with little kids too.  My nieces would sit on him and pull his ears.  It never seemed to even bother him.  He actually seemed to really like it.  he adored them as much as they adored him.  There are numerous pictures of him with the kids that serve as the perfect advertisement for why everyone should have a pit bull.  They’re the perfect nanny dogs–and he was especially good at it.  The girls were pretty young when he died–heck, they’re still really young!–but they still seem to remember him and it always causes a pang in my heart when they ask about him out of the blue.

For all of his cowardice, he was also the bravest dog I’ve ever met too.  It was bizarre actually.  He had always been afraid of our swimming pool.  Yet, as another family pet was drowning in it, he ran circles around the pool and barked his head off in an attempt to get someone’s attention.  Sadly, we weren’t home.  Rusty drowned and Rudy became even more terrified of the pool.  However, every single time we went swimming afterwards, he would bark and cry at us, trying to get us to get out of the pool.  He would sit at the edge and lean in, trying to fetch us out with his paws, disregarding his own fear to try to save us.

He was equally brave when it came to his fellow canines.  He was afraid to leave the yard without us.  He would occasionally get loose, but he would always go to the front door and wait for someone to let him back inside again.  Then one day, my sister’s dogs got out of the yard and ran off.  His protective instincts made him follow them.  When they fell into a flooded drainage ditch, he stood by the road, barking and waiting.  He was like a homing beacon, waiting for help to come.

Remembering the Rudy Beast…we miss you!!

He was always like that–good and sweet and loyal and kind.  So it was really, really hard when he started to age.  It was not at all a graceful process either.  Pit bulls have a lot of hip and bone problems due to countless generations of inbreeding.  Rudy had hip dysplasia.  Over time, he also developed degenerative myelopathy.  It was horrible.  Our wonderful dog who used to run, jump, and swing from tree branches could no longer even get up or walk.  Eventually, we had to put him to sleep.  It was the only kind thing that we could do for him at that point–and he had earned that kindness regardless of how little we wanted to do it.  It was the worst thing I have ever had to do.  I went in to sit with him while the vet did it.  Awful.  It’s an understatement, but it’s really all I can say about it too.  It still breaks my heart to think about it.  The only thing that helped then–as it still does now–is knowing that he was definitely the kind of dog who proves that heaven exists.  To quote my favorite little kid’s movie once more, “All dogs go to Heaven, because, unlike people, dogs are naturally good and loyal and kind”.  Rudy was all of those things…only better…

Sincerely Yours,

The Butcher of the Bard

This entry was posted in Countdown to the Zombie Apocalypse, Day to Day Circumstances, Down the Rabbit Hole, Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

