Giving Real Thanks This Pseudo-Thanksgiving

This Thanksgiving was just like something from a Norman Rockwell painting…

Kind of…

Sort of…

Okay, so there were some tiny differences.  I mean, there was no carving of the turkey–but there was turkey breast.  Besides, the breast meat tastes waaaaayyyy better than the dark meat anyway.  Baked potato–for sure.  Stuffing–check!  I even made that myself from scratch last minute.  I had planned to only make sautéed vegetables.  However, one too many Facebook status updates about stuffing made me change my mind at literally the last minute.  So in five, I threw together an improv stuffing.  I didn’t have any juice so I had to go with Corona instead–but then, when has that ever been a bad thing?  Sadly, the local Wal-Mart didn’t carry fresh cranberries–I used pineapple instead.  No green bean bake or rolls either.  But really, overall the food was close to Norman Rockwell-ish.

The dining room table was set with cloth napkins–I’m a heathen so this is a big deal for me.  I even used the fine china.  Christmas carols were streamed live over the internet and candles were lit to create the perfect Thanksgiving ambiance.  So yeah, everything was perfect-ish.

Then it came time to say the traditional Thanksgiving prayer and go around the table saying what everyone was thankful for.  That’s when the problems started.  See, the process is really a little bit disturbing when you’re talking to yourself.  I was even creeping myself out so I had to stop.  It was a very quiet Thanksgiving dinner if nothing else.  And for me, that’s definitely the only thing that was wrong with it.  Thanksgiving isn’t supposed to be quiet.  It’s supposed to be loud, drunken, and completely outrageous.  It’s supposed to be full of crazy family stories that no one ever admits to except during the holidays.  It’s supposed to be alive.

It was like looking at a painting.  It may be pretty but can you ever really know or understand why the painter thought it was beautiful?  You can only get faint impressions, hidden in the soft shadows of replicated candlelight.  It isn’t really real.

So yeah, it definitely wasn’t a real Thanksgiving…only a Pseudo-Thanksgiving.

Having said that, there are so many things that I have to give very real thanks for so I figured this would be the next best thing…

  • I’m thankful for my family–even though they weren’t able to be here.  They’re all still pretty awesome.  This year, I’m especially thankful to my sister who has been willing to talk to me for hours every day when the new house starts to freak me out.  She was even going to eat with me on Skype.  Damn time difference made that kind of impossible, but still.  Who else could be that awesome?!  Only no one!
  • I’m thankful for my new job.  It does kind of suck since it’s boring and doesn’t pay hardly anything.  Plus, it’s the sole reason I had to have a Pseudo-Thanksgiving alone to begin with.  Who cares about all of that though right?  I mean, it’s a job. And these days, that’s more than enough to be going on with.
  • I’m thankful to have been so blessed with such wonderful friends.  They make me laugh, they make me motivated, and they make me do incredible things–like actually write the books swirling around like mad in my deranged head.  They make me better than I otherwise would be.
  • Mostly I’m just thankful for the ability to be thankful.  I’m thankful that life isn’t all bitterness and misery.  Some people–including some people I care about–don’t think that way.  And God, how horrible that must be!  I know it used to be for me–when I used to think that way.  So I’m very thankful that I don’t think that way anymore.  Life has so much beauty and perfection to be found in all of its flaws and imperfections.  You just have to be willing to look and I’m thankful that I’ve found that ability over the years…

So yeah, I’m thankful for all kinds of silly, crazy things.  But that’s what makes life so awesome.  I thought about that tonight.  I’d gone walking around the neighborhood like I always do.  I was talking on the phone to one of those fantastic friends of mine–like I always do.  Then it started to rain.  Then it started to pour.  Then…well…it started to hail.  It was insane and Sadie and I got completely soaked.  But you know what, it was also fun. It reminded me of all of those times when Rudy and I would go puddle stomping.  God I miss him–his birthday would have been in two days.  When I was little, my sister and I thought that Thanksgiving always fell on the same date.  So we made Rudy’s birthday be on the 27th of November–Thanksgiving the year that we got him.  Every year after, we celebrated it on Thanksgiving so that he could share turkey with us.  It was hilarious and childish–but I know he loved it…and us for it.

So yeah, our mad dash through the rain made me kind of sad.  But it was wonderful in spite of that–and because of it.  It was definitely a good reminder that I am alive–hail is pretty good at knocking sense into you….hahaha.  It was a good reminder of all of the things I have to be thankful for…and all of the things that I’ve had to be thankful for in years past.  Most importantly, it was a good reminder of all of things that life gives us to be thankful for each and every day–yesterday, today, tomorrow, and always.

Besides, the rain reflected so prettily in all of the the lit dining rooms that blurred by as I rushed home.  It was as if Norman Rockwell and Pablo Picasso had had a child.  It was definitely a weird combination, but God it was beautiful…

Happy Turkey Day everyone!!

Sincerely Yours,

The Butcher of the Bard

This entry was posted in Day to Day Circumstances, Happy Holidays!, Thanksgiving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Giving Real Thanks This Pseudo-Thanksgiving

  1. Vicki says:

    Well now I’m crying! I miss you so much sister dear! I wish we could be together for the holidays! I am beyond thankful for you! And now I miss Rudy roo! I love you

Leave a Reply

