Looking for Treasure?…

…then X marks the spot…in the clouds of all places. 

At least it did yesterday.  Riches beyond your wildest dreams are somewhere in good old Tracy, CA–you know, like the treasure room on the Pirates of the Caribbean ride at Disneyland.  Only this mound of gold is better because it’s theoretically real.  I mean who in their right mind would bury fake treasure right?  So yeah, somewhere out there is a really big, really real treasure just waiting for someone to claim it.

All you have to do is figure out which treasure map that big X in the sky belongs to.  After all, you have to know which angle you’re supposed to be looking at that X from in the first place.  And if you can figure that out, then well, more power to you.

Good luck with that…

I’ve been puzzling it out in the back of my mind for nearly a whole day–I even had a really bizarre and unrepeatable dream about it last night!–and I’m still no closer to figuring it out than I was in that first moment I saw it.  There are just way too many things that it could mean…

Maybe we’re supposed to take it literally and dig directly beneath that big X in the sky.  Now Tracy is definitely a small town, but I can still see this being a bit of A Problem.  After all, that big X seemed to stretch over all of Tracy north of Valpico Road and west of Tracy Boulevard.  Small town or not, that’s still a heck of a lot of ground to cover.  Not to mention that most of that is liberally covered with houses.  I don’t really relish the thought of having to explain to all of those angry homeowners just why I have to tear up their property.  Can you imagine telling Mr. Jones his new rec room has to be bulldozed because that 55″ LED he just bought is rotting his mind?  How about telling Mrs. Jones those rose bushes she loves so much have to be dug up because they’re dead?  She’d never fall for it–which is a damn shame too since they really are

Le grand sigh.

No, I’d definitely have to tell the truth.  And then the Joneses would be trying to keep up with me!  Just think:

To act, or not to act: that is the question:

Whether ’tis better to be made to suffer   

By sharing this outrageous fortune,       

Or take up arms & shovels against them

And–

…and…

…And isn’t that just an awful abuse of Hamlet if ever there was one? 

Maybe it’s my brain’s way of saying that the treasure that big X is protecting is of a metaphorical–instead of corporeal–nature.   It’s really too bad that this just creates even more questions and leaves none answered in return… 

Is it meant to aid me in my long-term decision-making?  The question of where I’m supposed to live has been plaguing me for months now.  An answer to that question would be a perfectly logical treasure to hunt for.  And just think, my friends’ house certainly falls within “west of Tracy Blvd and north of Valpico Rd.”  Does that mean I’m supposed to move in with them?  Of course, it’s not that simple though–nothing ever is.  It is an awfully big X; who knows how far north-west I’d have to drive to put it behind me.  Perhaps, I’d have to go all the way north and out of California.  Maybe I’m supposed to relocate to the Portland–that wonderful city so many people seem to think of as the Land of Milk and Honey.  Or maybe I’m supposed to go further north–further west even–into the Puget Sound area.  My sister is moving up there after all and I’d love to be able to see those three little angels of hers whenever I wanted.  However, by that same token, maybe I’m not supposed to move anywhere.  I mean, if you drove further south on Tracy Blvd–out to the airport maybe–then maybe, that big X in the sky would be covering the house I live in now.   Maybe, none of us are supposed to move anywhere.  Maybe we’re supposed to stay in the house that we all know and love so well.  And isn’t that just a regular kick in the face too because that’s really just not an option… 

Then there’s a third possibility too.  Maybe that big X isn’t a treasure map X at all.  Maybe it’s more the type of X you use to cross something out.  Maybe someone is telling us to get the Hell out of California–out of the western states even–and run off as fast as our cars can speed away.  So does that mean I’m supposed to move off to Mississippi or Ohio or whatever the flavor of the week is?  It’s enough to make a girl’s head spin–and NOT in the good way.  And it’s certainly more than enough to make me think that the big X in the sky can’t possibly have anything to do with relocation for me or anyone else.

So maybe we’re meant to dig up into the sky.  Maybe it’s God’s way of reminding us that He is there.  Maybe we’re meant to look beyond the clouds to see Him beyond them.  And wouldn’t that be just like Him too–to remind us of His presence in those times when we most need it.  Maybe it’s a sort of invitation to talk to Him when we need someone–anyone!to listen…

Plus, the whole ambiguity thing is definitely His style.  He isn’t the type to tell us where to go or how to live our lives.  He just gives us those little hints–like giant X’s in the sky–and we’re meant to take them as we will.  They have to be ambiguous so that He can talk to lots of people at once–or He’d never be able to get anything done! 

Having said that, maybe His message for us isn’t about religion at all.  Instead, perhaps He is telling us to look inwards to find our answers.  And doesn’t that just suck?!  After all, if we knew how to look for our own answers, we wouldn’t have needed to ask Him in the first place!  More importantly, it sucks because it gives us all a level of accountability in our lives that I’m not really comfortable having.  I don’t really want to have to find my own answers…what if I don’t like them?  What if I look deep within and find that while those answers may be the right and only choices, they will still cause me more misery than they’re worth?

Maybe it’s His way of saying that we aren’t really meant to know any of those answers.  Maybe it’s like shopping in some chic little boutique in New York: If you have to ask the price, it means you can’t afford it.  If you have to ask the questions to get an answer, then maybe you can’t afford the answer at that point in your life.  It doesn’t mean that you will always be unable to deal with it; it just means that in the here and now, addressing that question is simply not a viable option. 

I Kind of like that idea…I never did like making decisions…

Or maybe, I’m way off base on all of these…

Maybe, the sole purpose of that giant X in the sky is simply to get us all wondering about its meaning.  After all, it did lead me down some very strange avenues of thought that I would never have gone down on my own–you know, the road less travelled and all of that rot.  Besides, in my searching I did come across one really cheesy, but fabulous treasure: a pen name.  While I normally don’t believe in pen names, maybe it will come in handy someday–you know, like when I decide to defy convention and–gasp!–write in different genres. 

And really, who cares if it doesn’t?  It’s enough to make me happy.  After all, the alliteration is killer!…

Sincerely Yours,

The Butcher of the Bard

 

This entry was posted in Day to Day Circumstances, Down the Rabbit Hole, Faith and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking for Treasure?…

  1. Valerie says:

    Maybe . . . maybe . . .

    Okay, so I totally wanted to play but a) I’m not very good at it, and b) you didn’t miss any possibilites that I could see. Hmmm, friends who are smart and overthink things sometimes really ruin my plans. Unless, of course, it wasn’t an X and it was really one of those crazy math problems where you have to find angle and sines. Then He could really be trying to reinforce the importance of math in our everyday lives. I mean, the next time someone says “When am I ever going to use Calculus in real life?” you can just point to the sky.

  2. Oh Calculus….just think, perhaps the answer can only be found by dividing the derivatives. It gives me an excuse to have that goofy song we made up in my head for the enxt day or so…

    “Low D-High Minus High D-Low…Divided by Low Squared.”

    *smirk*

Leave a Reply

